Backing Up and Recovering Your Log

DXKeeper Online Help Contents

 

While modern mass storage devices are very reliable, they retain their predecessors' habit of failing at the worst possible moment. The careful operator will make frequent backup copies of his or her log using external media -- a CDROM or DVDROM, a removable disk drive, a disk drive on another PC on a home network, even a thumb drive. In addition, one should make a backup before performing major changes to one's log, such as importing new QSOs, using the Modify QSOs panel, or running a script; this makes it easy to recover if things don't go as expected.

Making a backup copy of your Log file

To make a backup copy of the current Log file, 

  1. click the Config button

  2. select the Configuration window's Log tab

  3. click the Backup folder panel's Backup button

DXKeeper will create a copy of your log file in the specified backup folder; this copy's filename will include the current UTC date and time,  allowing you to create and retain log backups as frequently as every second. If you've previously created a log backup file on the same UTC date, you will be offered the choice of aborting the new backup or over-writing the previous backup.

 

Automatically making a backup copy of your Log file on shutdown

If the Backup log on shutdown box is checked when DXKeeper is directed to terminate with a log file open, then 

Recovering your Log file from a backup copy

If the contents of the current Log are damaged -- by the unintentional deletion of multiple QSOs, for example -- you can replace the contents of the current Log with those of a previously-created backup copy. To do so, 

  1. terminate DXView and SpotCollector if they are running

  2. click the Config button

  3. select the Configuration window's Log tab

  4. click the Backup folder panel's Recover button

DXKeeper will display a file selector dialog window with which you can choose the backup copy whose contents will be replace the contents of the current Log file. Before this replacement occurs, the contents of the current Log file are saved to a file whose name is generated by appending the words _abandoned_YYYY_MMM_DD_HH_MM_SS_0 to the original filename. This file provides a safety net should you later discover that it contains needed data; it can be deleted when you are certain that its no longer needed.

When the operation is complete, the Log file will will be in a state identical to that of the moment you created the selected backup file: logged QSOs, awards progress, QSL queue, and log-specific settings.

DXKeeper Online Help Contents